Shades of Gray

Military Romantic Suspense
military romantic suspense, Vet, bestselling romantic suspense

Military Romantic Suspense Romantic Thriller

”  

amazon_long barnes_long books-a-million_long  ibookstore_long indie_long kobo_long sony_long kindle nook

“A wonderful combination of romance, family drama, and out-and-out thriller.”

Anne Stuart

A deadly terrorist attack that could kill -millions is brewing deep in the Florida swamps.

It’s Jake Taylor’s job to stop it–and to rescue his wife, Laura, from its perpetrators.  From the start, Laura and Jake doubt they’ll live a long, happy life together–not with their military connections.  He’s a Special Ops soldier; she’s a former Special Ops intelligence officer with an insider’s knowledge of the risks he takes. So their marriage began as a practical arrangement, a marriage of convenience. The odds are high Jake will not survive this assignment and he needs to keep his young son out of the clutches of an unstable ex-wife.

Fully aware of this and equally determined to save the child, Laura doesn’t dare to fall in love with her husband. Yet when they find themselves dead-center of the threat and they must work together to stop it, they discover they’re fighting their most intense battle ever–for the child, for their own lives and for their marriage.

 

Reviewer’s Choice Award Nominee Best Contemporary Suspense Novel of the Year, Romantic Times

Top Pick, RT

Gold Medal Award, RT

ShadesofGrayAudio               audible amazon

Top Pick, RT Gold Medal Award, RT “A wonderful combination of romance, family drama, and out-and-out thriller.” –Anne Stuart, New York Times bestselling author

“Complications here go beyond the usual hurdles and make the romance more touching for being hard won.  And if the main action–Laura and Jake must combat terrorists amassing anthrax in the Florida Everglades–seems far-fetched, just read The New York Times. 500,000 first printing. (July)”–Publishers Weekly

“With her impressively realistic portrayal of the jeopardy faced by Special Ops members, dynamic author Vicki Hinze guarantees her readers an edge-of-their-seat thrill ride.  You want intrigue, danger, and romance?  Ms. Hinze proves she can supply them!” — Romantic Times

“Hinze slides into the major leagues with this novel.  Shades of Gray has it all:  adventure, romance, intrigue, and danger.  Impossible to put down.” – Under the Covers

“Readers will have no doubts about Shades of Gray being a first class military romance leaded with non-stop action, plenty of intrigue, and a great romance.  Hinze demonstrates that she is the Chief of Staff of the military romance sub-genre.” – Painted Rock

“Vicki Hinze’s new book, Shades of Gray, is a wonderful combination of romance, family drama, and out-and-out thriller.  Her characters are wonderful and vivid, the plot engrossing, and the setting is utterly fascinating.  A terrific read.” – Anne Stuart, best-selling author

“A great story line that easily could sell as a romance or an action-thriller.  Hinze is clearly one of the leaders of military romances that emphasizes action, suspense, and romance.  A winner for fans of romantic suspense.” – Affaire de Coeur

“Hinze does an exemplary job of weaving a terrorist tale full of romantic suspense and compassion.  Many twists and turns with the storyline coming full circle after some interesting surprises.  A great book from a terrific author.” — Reviewer, Sunny Adcock

“A roller coaster ride of suspense and terror.  Hinze may just have initiated a new genre.  A page turner from beginning to end.” — Site101

“A high-tech, romantic thriller.  Suspense at its best!   This book accurately delves into the world of Special Ops and the men and women who lay their lives on the line for our country anytime, anywhere.  If you like Tom Clancy, Nelson DeMille, or Tami Hoag, you’ll love Hinze’s Shades of Gray.” — Lorna Tedder, author of Access

“Hinze takes the reader on a very exciting, suspenseful ride.   Splendid!” – Bell, Book and Candle

“Shades of Gray is an exciting, suspenseful drama that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.  Hinze has created an adventure filled with twists, turns, betrayal and romance leaving readers clamoring for more.  Do not miss this brilliantly crafted story.” – CompuServe Reviews

“Shades is very fast-paced, filled with the kind of intrigue and plot twists that make for a great action movie…a great read if you’re a fan of Clancy-type novels and movies.  A perfect combination of the two [intrigue and romance].” — The Middlesex News (MA)

“A first class military romance… The crisp story line is driven forward at a frenzy pace by a brilliantly developed set of secondary characters.” — BookBrowser Review

“High tension, riveting action, and characters of extraordinary integrity and self-control make Shades of Gray informative and entertaining.” — Amazon.com Review

“An edge-of-your-seat thrill ride.”  — BarnesandNoble.com

“…suspense is paramount, the stakes high, the bad guys truly bad, and the main characters inseparable from their work for the American military.   Hinze writes with convincing authenticity about the complex military world of exact rules, rigid discipline, constant preparedness, and covert missions, a world in which men and women and their families, make tremendous sacrifices to protect their country.   In Jake and Laura, Hinze creates two people of exceptional honor and self-control whose struggle to resist the pull of love goes down in glorious defeat.”– Ellen Edwards, Amazon.com Article Excerpt

“…takes us behind the scenes on missions of danger and national prominence.   Creating two unforgettable characters of strength, integrity and honor, Ms. Hinze quickly captures our attention and our hearts.  Keeps the pages turning and the pulse pounding.  Shades of Gray has it all.” — New and Previously Owned Books, Reviewer

“Skillfully combines an action thriller with an engaging family story.  Hinze is a gifted writer with an engaging style reminiscent of Karen Robards.”  — Gothic Journal

“An exhilarating, fast-paced, edge-of-your-seat story filled with love, honor, and betrayal.  Smooth as silk.  This book will keep you reading long into the morning.  Definitely a keeper!” — Romance Communications

“Hinze explodes onto the scene as an author of top-notch military romantic fiction.  Fans of Anne Stuart, Tami Hoag, and Iris Johansen will be thrilled to discover the talent of Vicki Hinze.  Fasten your seatbelt for a wild and wonderful ride.  – Romance and Women’s Fiction Exchange

“Twists and turns abound.  A crazy ex-wife, a terrorist group, and the rigid discipline off the military all come together to make this book a real page-turner.”  – WCRG on America Online

“Hinze leaves the reader hanging with each word.  This book is impossible to put down…” — Word Museum

“A Roller Coaster Reader!  Shades of Gray has it all–breathtaking suspense, heartstopping romance, and fabulous characters.  Hinze is a master at crafting a book you simply cannot put down!  Watch for this book to hit the NYT Bestseller List and for Hinze to join the superstars.” — Delia Parr, Author of Sunrise

“Hinze moves from the cozy surroundings of the Seascape romances she writes as Victoria Barrett to a setting where love takes especially hard work. Members of the Special Operations unit of the U.S. Air Force certainly have a tough life. Dads and moms aren’t always around for their kids, not if they’re out on “”TDY””–active duty fighting bad guys in swampy parts of the world. Hinze’s hero, Jake (the ubiquitous name for macho heroes), has a 2% survival rate on most of the assignments he gets, so he’s never really tried to put down roots, although he longs to. In order to keep his son Timmy out of the custody of his alcoholic ex-wife, Jake accepts his friend Laura Taylor’s offer of a marriage of convenience. Laura is a former Special Ops officer who designs complicated communications equipment. Given their lives, love isn’t an option, but after two years together, resisting it isn’t either. The complications here go beyond the usual hurdles faced by romantic protagonists and make the romance more touching for being hard won. And if the main action–Laura and Jake must combat terrorists amassing anthrax in the Florida Everglades–seems far-fetched, just read The New York Times. 500,000 first printing. (July)”–Publishers Weekly

Trade and Digital:

 

  • Publisher: Bell Bridge Books (June 21, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1611941628
  • ISBN-13: 978-1611941623
  • Digital:  ASIN B008JG8MUW

Hard Cover:

  • Series: Five Star Romance
  • Hardcover: 312 pages
  • Publisher: Five Star (ME); Standard print hardcover ed edition (January 1999)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786216891
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786216895

Audible Audio Edition

  • Version: Unabridged
  • Publisher: Bell Bridge Books
  • Audible.com Release Date: March 13, 2013
  • Whispersync for Voice: Ready
  • ASIN: B00BTJ0O1Q

First Publication:

  • Mass Market Paperback
  • Publisher: St Martins Pr; St. Martin’s Paperbacks Edition edition (1998)
  • ISBN-10: 0312966105
  • ISBN-13: 978-0312966102
  • ASIN: B002J3DG7A

Subscribe To My Monthly Newsletter

and get a free copy of Down & Dead in Even.

Get the latest news, updates, subscriber contests, notice of special sales, and more.

You have successfully subscribed. Thanks so much for joining me. Get your free book at http://vickihinze.com/welcome-new-members/

Pin It on Pinterest